Skip to content

Main Burmese Dynasties

Since 2nd century A.D., sixteen important and influential Main Burmese Dynasties or kingdoms have been recorded in Myanmar history. According to some scholars Buddhism was brought to Burma/Myanmar around 2nd century A.D., others believe not until 5th century A.D. There is some evidence that it could have been as early as 2 A.D., or earlier, although there has been a lack of Buddhist iconography or proof found in Myanmar to support this belief.

Main Burmese Dynasties

Buddhism was first introduced into Myanmar from its northern Indian neighbors through traveling Buddhist monks visiting Myanmar or adjoining countries and through trade.

Animism was the main belief system in Myanmar up until the 9th century when King Anawratha, a devout Buddhist, and the first King of the Pagan Empire ruled from 1014 A.D – 1077 A.D. King Anawratha declared Buddhism the predominant religion of Myanmar.

Although he couldn’t persuade his people to give up their animistic beliefs, he decided, in order to encourage his subjects to adhere to Buddhist beliefs he would have to make some of the Nats worshiped by his people official and acceptable. Of the myriad of Nats he chose 37 main Nats. Up until present times nat worship has coincided alongside Buddhism.

The thirty seven Nats are a combination of spirits of the departed, tree or water spirits and ghosts. Every year from the 31st July until August 7th just a a few miles out of Mandalay the Taungbyone Nat Festival is held to honor the Nats.

Main Burmese Dynasties

Beikthano Pyu City State
Located in middle part of Myanmar at the north of Kookogwa Village. 11 miles north of Taung Dwingyee.
2nd Century BCE 9th Century A.D.

Thuwunna Bonmi (Ramanya) City State (AD 100)
Located in southern Myanmar near Beelin, at the foot of Mount Kaylartha.

Tharay Kittarar Pyu City State (AD 400-1000)
Located in lower Myanmar, 5 miles southeast of Pyay.

Hanlin Pyu City State (AD?-832)
Located in upper Myanmar in Shwebo District, Wetlet Township.

Waytharlee Kingdom (BC 500-?)
Located in western Myanmar about 6 miles north of Myauk Oo or Mrauk-U

Bagan (Pagan) Dynasty (AD 107-1287)
Located in Upper Myanmar.

Pinya Dynasty (1309-1360)
Located in central Myanmar

Sagaing Dynasty (1315-1364)
Located in upper Myanmar in Sagaing.

Toungoo Dynasty (1486-1752) – split by the Shan state in the north and east of Myanmar (Burma).
Located in central Myanmar.

Innwa Dynasty (1364-1555)
Located in central Myanmar.

Bago/Hantharwaddy Dynasty
Located in lower Myanmar in Bago.

Kone Baung Dynasty or Alaungpaya Dynasty (1752-1885) – The last ruling Burman dynasty
Shwebo Palace: built by King Ahlaung Pharar

Kone Baung Dynasty
Amarapura Palace: Built by King Bodaw Pharar – Sanscript name for Amarapura “City of Immortality”

Kone Baung Dynasty:
Golden Palace Mandalay: built by King Mindon 1858.

Main Burmese Dynasties
Back To Top